Resources for Unemployed Workers
Resources for unemployed workers
- Unemployment Insurance: The Oregon Employment Department provides Unemployment Insurance benefits to most workers who are out of work through no fault of their own. To file an initial Unemployment Insurance claim, visit the Oregon Employment Department’s Online Claim System and follow instructions to file your new claim.
- Also available in Spanish.
- Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC): The federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act provided a temporary compensation of $600 a week for any worker eligible for state or federal Unemployment Compensation benefits. This $600 a week Unemployment Compensation is paid in addition to and at the same time (but not necessarily in the same check) as regular state Unemployment Compensation benefits; if you’ve already applied for Unemployment, you do not need to reapply for the additional compensation. This additional payment does not affect eligibility for Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program and was only available through July 25, 2020.
- The Oregon Employment Department began distributing the additional $600 benefits the week of April 13. Visit the Oregon Employment Department’s Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) website for further information.
- Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA): Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) is a program created through the CARES Act that provides unemployment benefits to workers who are not eligible for regular unemployment insurance benefits, so long as their unemployment was connected to the COVID-19 pandemic. This program is available through the end of 2020. PUA covers individuals who are self-employed, independent contractors, and those who do not have enough recent earnings to receive regular unemployment benefits.
- Visit the Oregon Employment Department’s Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (PUA) website to submit a PUA application and weekly PUA certification forms, and to learn more about eligibility.
- Note: if you are seeking PUA benefits and have previously applied for regular Unemployment Insurance, you do not need to file a weekly claim for regular Unemployment Insurance. You should, however, continue to submit a weekly PUA certification form.
- See FAQ on PUA below for more information.
- Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC): The CARES Act permits States to provide an additional 13 weeks of unemployment benefits to workers who need beyond what is provided for in state and federal law. This equates up to 39 weeks of unemployment benefits in total. Federal law requires an application to receive PEUC benefits. This benefit is available through the end of 2020.
- Visit the Oregon Employment Department’s Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) website to submit a PEUC application and weekly PEUC claims, and to learn more about eligibility.
- Lost Wages Assistance (LWA): After the Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) program ended in July, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) created a temporary program to provide unemployed workers with an additional $300 per week on top of their weekly unemployment benefit. The LWA program provides six weeks of supplemental $300 payments that are available between July 26, 2020 and September 5, 2020. Eligible individuals are those who received unemployment compensation between July 26, 2020 and September 5, 2020, and can self-certify that they are unemployed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
- Visit the Oregon Employment Department’s Lost Wages Assistance webpage for more information about qualifying for the program.
- Current Unemployment Insurance in-person meeting requirements: If you are sick with COVID-19, call your WorkSource Oregon center to ask about alternative options for completing your appointments.
FAQs for self-employed, contract workers, gig workers, and people who could not start work due to COVID-19