Blumenauer Congratulates Lincoln & Grant High Schools for Success in ‘We the People' Competition

April 26, 2016
Press Release

Washington, DC — Today, on the floor of the U.S. House of Representatives, Congressman Earl Blumenauer (OR-03) congratulated the constitution teams of Lincoln High School and Grant High School for their success in this year’s “We the People” Constitution competition, with Lincoln placing first and Grant placing third in the national finals yesterday. Congressman Blumenauer commended both teams’ students and volunteer coaches for their efforts and passion for the Constitution and government.

Click here to watch Congressman Blumenauer’s remarks.

“These teenage scholars, most not old enough to vote or to drive, compete in a contest demonstrating their knowledge of the Constitution and democratic principles, as well as their ability to think on their feet,” Blumenauer said. “At a time when civics education doesn’t appear to be a priority for most of American education, this shows the appetite and the capacity to fill that gap.”

On Friday, April 22, ahead of the competition, Congressman Blumenauer met with both teams on the House floor to wish them luck and answer detailed questions about partisanship and the political climate, the breadth of the administrative state, the challenges presented by special interests and weakened campaign finance laws, and the role of a legislator in the 21stcentury.

“Listening to their comments and questions, I celebrated their insights and hard work, their commitment,” Blumenauer said reflecting on the meeting. “I wish we could have all of them on the floor of this House to elevate the discussion and deliberation, and I think they’d add, frankly, to the decision making. But until their time will come, and it can’t come soon enough, we celebrate five consecutive national championships for two public high schools in Portland, Oregon. Congratulations, Lincoln Cardinals on your championship, and Grant High School for finishing third. Together, you have dominated this elite competition for five consecutive years. Congratulations!”