Blumenauer, Connolly, and Pascrell Urge President Biden to Remove and Replace Entire Postal Board of Governors

March 18, 2021
Press Release

Today, U.S. Reps. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Chairman of the House Ways & Means Subcommittee on Trade, Rep. Gerry Connolly (D-VA), Chairman of the House Subcommittee on Government Operations, and Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ), Chairman of the House Ways & Means Subcommittee on Oversight, led 50 of their colleagues in urging President Joe Biden to immediately remove and replace the six current members of the Postal Service Board of Governors.

“Under the tenure of this Board of Governors, the Postal Service was blatantly misused by President Trump in an unsuccessful gambit to influence a presidential election, the Postal Service is currently failing to meet its own service standards with historically low rates of on-time delivery, and conflicts of interest appear to be a requirement for service,” the lawmakers wrote to Biden on Thursday. “Because of their lax oversight, many families struggling through the pandemic still await delivery of their stimulus checks, credit card statements, or event holiday cards.”

The letter cites three broad failures on the part of the Board of Governors that warrant the immediate removal and replacement of its current members:

  • Silence in the face of continued gross mismanagement
  • Continued and self-inflicted nationwide delays in mail delivery
  • Rampant conflicts of interest

“For these reasons, we ask that you immediately remove the six current Postal Service Board of Governors and work with Congress to find the right people to perform these essential duties,” the lawmakers concluded.

In addition to Blumenauer, Connolly, and Pascrell, the letter was signed by Representatives: Beyer, Bowman, Boyle, Bush, Carson, Casten, Cicilline, Cohen, Cooper, Craig, Crow, Davis, DeFazio, Dingell, Espaillat, Hastings, Holmes Norton, Huffman, Jones, Kaptur, Khanna, Kirkpatrick, Krishnamoorthi, Barbara Lee, Lieu, Lowenthal, Lynch, Carolyn Maloney, McBath, McEachin, McGovern, Mfume, Nadler, Newman, Napolitano, Payne, Pingree, Plaskett, Porter, Pressley, Raskin, Rush, Scanlon, Schakowsky, Speier, Titus, Tonko, Velazquez, Wasserman Schultz, and Welch.

A PDF copy of the letter is available here.