Congress honors "Tour de Lance"

September 24, 2002
Press Release
WASHINGTON, DC-Today, Congressman Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), the Chair and founder of the Congressional Bicycle Caucus, introduced a resolution honoring and congratulating Lance Armstrong on his 4th consecutive victory of the Tour de France.

"The resolution being introduced today is a deserving tribute to Lance Armstrong and his Tour de France victory, commitment to cancer awareness and survivorship, and promotion of bicycling," said Blumenauer.

The following members of Congress cosponsored the resolution: Reps. Christopher Shays, Sue Wilkins Myrick, Lloyd Doggett, Carolyn Kilpatrick, Rush Holt, Ellen Tauscher, James Moran, Ken Bentsen, Zach Wamp, Rosa DeLauro, Nancy Johnson, Deborah Pryce, Roger Wicker, Michael McNulty, Martin Frost, Bob Etheridge, James oberstar, Henry Waxman, Corrine Brown, Steny Hoyer, Barbara Lee, Thomas Tancredo, John Sweeney and George Miller. The Senate passed an identical resolution, S. Res. 315, on September 5, 2002.

The resolution commends Mr. Armstrong for his, "promotion of bicycling as a sport, a healthy fitness activity, and a pollution-free transportation alternative."

This year's Tour de France bicycling race covered 2,036 miles in 20 days. Winning this challenging race was an amazing feat in itself but Lance Armstrong's triumph is even more remarkable considering his comeback from cancer. Through the Lance Armstrong Foundation, he has also been an effective advocate for survivorship and cancer research.